HOME > About Daejeon > General Information > Outline

Daejeon's Vision

The city's name comes from the Chinese characters ÓŽ(dae) and ļ£(jeon), which means ”°great field”± Daejeon is the fifth largest city in Korea after Seoul, Busan, Daegu, and Incheon with a population of approximately 1.5 million people on an area of 540§“(the total area of the Korean peninsula is 222,154§“). Daejeon was formerly the capital of Chungcheongnam-do (province), which still maintains its administrative head office in the city. It was upgraded to a metropolitan city in 1995. Currently there are 7 metropolitan cities in Korea. Located in the center of Korea, Daejeon serves as a hub of transportation. Major expressways and railways connecting the country from the north to south converge in Daejeon. With this wonderful transportation network, it is possible to travel to anywhere in the country within half a day from Daejeon.